Skip Links

2006 Media Releases - Corporate - Sydney Opera House launches new visitor experience

Issued Thursday, 23 November 2006

SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE LAUNCHES NEW VISITOR EXPERIENCE

Sydney Opera House today announced details of a new visitor experience, High Tea at Sydney Opera House.

High Tea at Sydney Opera House takes places at Bennelong restaurant, featuring a signature menu created by celebrated French chef Guillaume Brahimi and a 25 minute opera recital. Soprano Hye Seoung Kwon will perform at the first event on Sunday 17 December.

Deconstructing the notion of a traditional High Tea and turning the concept on its head, High Tea at Sydney Opera House captures the spirit of Sydney – bold, stylish and contemporary. Forget stale scones and cucumber sandwiches; this is High Tea Sydney style.

On arrival guests are welcomed with a glass of fine Australian sparkling wine, a selection of finger sandwiches, French pastries, petit fours and a pot of fresh tea or coffee.

Following this is the highlight of the afternoon; an intimate rendering of popular opera classics by some of Australia’s most revered opera singers including Hye Seoung Kwon, Shannon Foley, David Corcoran and Sian Pendry.

Combining the breathtaking architecture of Sydney Opera House, the elegance of Bennelong’s dining room, the unbeatable views, the very best in contemporary cuisine, and performances from some of the opera world’s brightest stars, High Tea at Sydney Opera House will quickly become one of Sydney’s “must-do” experiences.

High Tea at Sydney Opera House
Forthcoming dates:
(Each event takes place at Bennelong Restaurant)

Sunday 17 December 2006
3.00pm-5.00pm

Sunday 21 January 2007
3.00pm-5.00pm

Sunday 4 February 2007
3.00pm-5.00pm

Tuesday 20 February 2007
2.00pm-4.00pm

Wednesday 21 February 2007
2.00pm-4.00pm

Sunday 25 February 2007
3.00-5.00pm

Sunday 11 March 2007
3.00pm-5.00pm

Sunday 1 April 2007
3.00pm-5.00pm

Sunday 13 May 2007
3.00pm-5.00pm

Sunday 17 June 2007
3.00pm-5.00pm

Sunday 15 July 2007
3.00pm-5.00pm

 

Skip Links