Skip Links

CHILDREN OF THE SUN

08 September 2014 – 25 October 2014

Venue: Drama Theatre  View Seat Map
Presented by: Sydney Theatre Company

Book Now

Maxim Gorky's epic dark comedy Children of the Sun takes a fresh look at the human condition, featuring Helen Thomson, Justine Clarke and Jacqueline McKenzie.

Description

Sydney Theatre Company and Colonial First State Global Asset Management present
CHILDREN OF THE SUN
By Maxim Gorky In a new version by Andrew Upton

Love and other chemical reactions

Following on from his adaptation of Chekhov's  Uncle Vanya , Andrew Upton's new adaptation of Maxim Gorky's  Children of the Sun  takes a fresh, colloquial look at the human condition.

Sydney Theatre Company and Colonial First State Global Asset Management present
CHILDREN OF THE SUN
By Maxim Gorky 
In a new version by Andrew Upton

Love and other chemical reactions

Following on from his adaptation of Chekhov's  Uncle Vanya , Andrew Upton's new adaptation of Maxim Gorky's  Children of the Sun  takes a fresh, colloquial look at the human condition.

In a rambling mansion in provincial Russia at the beginning of the 20th century, a sister, a brother, their partners and admirers pursue their intimate intrigues oblivious to bigger new realities brewing at their door. A family born to privilege but bound for dysfunction.

Protasov might be the man of the house, but, even when he lifts his eyes from his chemistry set, he is blind to his wife's infidelities, his friend's advances and his sister's quiet despair. In something of a casting coup, three of our most treasured actresses - Justine Clarke ( Les Liaisons Dangereuses ), Jacqueline McKenzie ( Sex with Strangers ) and Helen Thomson ( Mrs Warren's Profession ) - form a formidable trio around our hero, as outside the propulsive energy of revolution reaches a crescendo.

Both a sparkling comedy and a thoughtful exploration of the larger issues of privilege, progress and being caught at the wrong end of history,  Children of the Sun  captures the atmosphere of upheaval of its era - with more than a fleeting resonance to our own troubled times.

More Info

Artist Information

Director Kip Williams
Set Designer David Fleischer
Costume Designer Renée Mulder
Lighting Designer Damien Cooper

With
Valerie Bader, Justine Clarke, Yure Covich, Jacqueline McKenzie, Hamish Michael, Chris Ryan, Helen Thomson, Contessa Treffone, Toby Truslove, James Bell, Jay Laga'aia


Pricing Information

Prices correct at the time of publication and subject to change without notice. Exact prices will be displayed with seat selection.

Preview $78
Standard $94 - $99
Concession* $75 - $99
Senior $85 - $99
Under 30 $58 - $99
Group 10+ $85 - $99
Booking fee applies per transaction

$8.50 - Contact Centre
$8.50 - Internet
$5.00 - Box Office Counter

Pricing Information Explained

Pricing Information Explained

For events which offer concession pricing, if you purchase concession tickets, please ensure you have your Proof of Concession with you when you attend an event.

Ticket Booking Enquiries: For all general booking enquiries please email the Contact Centre or call on +61 2 9250 7777 for more information.

Groups Bookings: Please email the Group Booking team or call on +61 2 9250 7700 for more information.

Insider Prices: Insiders are Sydney Opera House members. Insiders get waived booking fees, up to 20% off Sydney Opera House Presents shows and more. More Info

*Concessions include: Australian Pensioners, Unemployed and Australian Full Time Students.

Performance Dates

Previews
Mon 8 September 8pm
Tue 9 September 8pm
Wed 10 September 8pm
Thu 11 September 8pm
Season
Fri 12 September 8pm - Saturday 25 October 8pm
Accessible Performances
Wed 8 October 1pm - Captioned
Fri 10 October 8pm - Audio Described
Sat 11 October 2pm - Audio Described
Fri 17 October 8pm - Captioned
Thu 23 October 8pm - AUSLAN

 

Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes including interval (approximate)

September

  1. Mon 08 Sep 14 8:00pm
  2. Tue 09 Sep 14 8:00pm
  3. Wed 10 Sep 14 8:00pm
  4. Thu 11 Sep 14 8:00pm - Limited Availability
  5. Fri 12 Sep 14 8:00pm - Allocation Exhausted
  6. Sat 13 Sep 14 8:00pm - Allocation Exhausted
  7. Mon 15 Sep 14 6:30pm - Limited Availability
  8. Tue 16 Sep 14 8:00pm
  9. Wed 17 Sep 14 1:00pm - Limited Availability
  10. Wed 17 Sep 14 8:00pm
  11. Thu 18 Sep 14 8:00pm - Limited Availability
  12. Fri 19 Sep 14 8:00pm - Limited Availability
  13. Sat 20 Sep 14 2:00pm - Limited Availability
  14. Sat 20 Sep 14 8:00pm - Limited Availability
  15. Mon 22 Sep 14 6:30pm
  16. Tue 23 Sep 14 8:00pm
  17. Wed 24 Sep 14 1:00pm
  18. Wed 24 Sep 14 8:00pm
  19. Thu 25 Sep 14 8:00pm - Limited Availability
  20. Fri 26 Sep 14 8:00pm
  21. Sat 27 Sep 14 2:00pm - Limited Availability
  22. Sat 27 Sep 14 8:00pm - Limited Availability
  23. Mon 29 Sep 14 6:30pm - Limited Availability
  24. Tue 30 Sep 14 8:00pm

Reviews

'I am uncovering the secret of life.' - Protasov

Links

Essay: Grappling with Gorky
Q&A: David Fleischer
Archive: Helen Thomson

Leave a comment


Skip Links