Skip Links
soh.search.redirect.input

Emerging artists hit Crescendo at the Opera House

Event Details

What: Crescendo
When: February - December 2018
Where: Utzon Room, Sydney Opera House
Tickets: From $45 + booking fee

Multipacks on sale: Tuesday 12 December, 9am AEDT
Single tickets on sale: Wednesday 20 December, 9am AEDT

Sydney – Monday 11 December, 2017. The Sydney Opera House today announced a new music series, Crescendo, focusing on the classical stars of tomorrow and new and rarely-performed repertoire.

Building on the success of a 2017 pilot featuring stand-out recitals by Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) and Pacific Opera, the new series of 10 concerts in the intimate Utzon Room, a venue particularly suited to chamber work and recitals, is presented in collaboration with Ensemble Offspring, Pacific OperaSydney Philharmonia Choirs - VOXSydney Symphony Orchestra Fellows, ANAM, Australian Chamber Orchestra (ACO) Collective and Musica Viva.

And a week after the launch of the Opera House’s 2018 All About Women festival line-up, the Crescendo program boasts a particular focus on the work of female composers and performers, turning the tide in a genre traditionally dominated by men.

Crescendo is nothing if not eclectic, featuring everything from works inspired by jazz, nature and Shakespeare to Mahler, Bach, Vivaldi and little-known Christmas carols to round out the program in December.

Kate Dundas, Sydney Opera House Director Performing Arts, says: “We are thrilled to be announcing this initiative in collaboration with some of our Resident Companies and other renowned Australian classical music organisations. At its core, this annual series aims to provide an ever-more expansive stage for Australia’s most talented classical and chamber musicians and recognises our audiences' passion for the genre, strengthening the place of classical music on our stages into the future.”

Crescendo 2018 Program

Sunday 11 February, 2018 | Ensemble Offspring
Sunday 11 March, 2018 | Pacific Opera
Sunday 29 April, 2018 | Sydney Philharmonia Choirs - VOX
Sunday 10 June, 2018 | Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellows
Sunday 24 June, 2018 | Ensemble Offspring
Sunday 15 July, 2018 | ANAM Artists
Sunday 5 August, 2018 | ANAM with Dudu Carmel
Sunday 9 September, 2018 | ACO Collective
Sunday 28 October, 2018 | Musica Viva presents Aura Go
Sunday 16 December, 2018 | Pacific Opera

For further media information, please contact:

Sophie Garrett
Communications Coordinator
+61 2 9250 7495 / +61 418 462 044
sgarrett@sydneyoperahouse.com