Skip to main content

Conservation Council and Design Advisory Panel

The Sydney Opera House Conservation Council and Design Advisory Panel, established in the 1990s and 2010 respectively, provide specialist conservation, heritage and design advice to the Trust and the organisation.

The Council and Panel advise on the principles that underlie decision-making on conservation and heritage-related issues, and the implementation of the Conservation Management Plan, Utzon Design Principles, Heritage Action Plan and other key documents. They advise the organisation on how to conserve and enhance the heritage values of the site.

Conservation Council

Current members are: Opera House Trustee Phillip Wolanski AM (Chair), CEO Louise Herron AM and senior executives Kya Blondin and Ian Cashen, as well as the following external members: Rajeev Maini (Heritage NSW); Felicity Greenway (Department of Planning, Industry and Environment); Sheridan Burke (conservation heritage specialist); Abbie Galvin (NSW Government Architect) and Greg McTaggart PSM (external specialist).

Design Advisory Panel

Current members are: Ken Maher AO (Chair), Abbie Galvin (NSW Government Architect), Sheridan Burke (Conservation Council member), Peter Mould (external specialist/architect) and Helen Lochhead (external specialist/architect).