Skip to main content

Main navigation

Joyce Yang

14 May 2024

This event takes place off site at Snow Concert Hall

Classical Music

Joyce Yang is a breathtakingly spontaneous and virtuosic artist, grounded in a seemingly effortless technique that allows her, and her audience, to soar.

Please note: this event is not held at the Sydney Opera House.

Also on this page

Venue information

Grammy-nominated pianist of extraordinary range, depth and charisma

Returning to Australia by popular demand, Joyce Yang is a Grammy-nominated pianist of extraordinary range, depth and charisma. She has been lauded by the Washington Post for her “poetic and sensitive pianism” and described by the New York Times as a “knockout". 

From early and auspicious beginnings in her native Seoul, Joyce Yang’s superb musicianship, brilliance and sheer joy have endeared her to audiences and critics all over the world. 

Piano+ is delighted to present this phenomenal musician in a program of works by Tchaikovsky (selections from The Seasons, Op. 37a), Rachmaninoff (Three Preludes from Op. 32 and 23) and Stravinsky (The Firebird Suite), followed by Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition. This suite, with its masterful emotional trajectory, is the perfect canvas for this extraordinary artist.

Presented by Piano+


PYOTR TCHAIKOVSKY Selections from The Seasons Op.37a
No.1 January: By the Fireside
No.2 February: Carnival
No.4 April: Snowdrop
No.5 May: May Nights
No.6 June: Barcarolle
No.8 August: Harvest

from 13 Preludes Op.32
No.10 in B minor
No.12 in G# minor
from 10 Preludes Op.23 
No.4 in D major

IGOR STRAVINSKY/GUIDO AGOSTI Three movements from ‘The Firebird’:
I. Infernal Dance
II. Lullaby
III. Finale

- Interval -

MODEST MUSSORGSKY Pictures at an Exhibition:
[Promenade I] Allegro giusto, nel modo russico; senza allegrezza, ma poco sostenuto
I. The Gnome
[Promenade II] Moderato commodo assai e con delicatezza.
II. The Old Castle
[Promenade III] Moderato non tanto, pesantemente
III. Tuileries
IV. Oxen [Promenade IV]
V. The Ballet of the Unhatched Chicks
VI. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle
[Promenade V] Allegro giusto, nel modo russico; poco sostenuto
VII. The Market at Limoges (The Great News)
VIII. Catacombs – With the Dead in a Dead Language
IX. The Hut on Hens’ Legs
X. The Great Gate of Kiev

Other information

You may also like

2 - 3 Aug 2024 Classical Music

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony

The iconic blast of horns at the beginning of Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony is the first of many power-packed moments in this program of dramatic contrasts.

10 Aug 2024 Classical Music

Maxim Vengerov in Recital

Maxim Vengerov returns to Sydney for a long awaited recital with acclaimed pianist, Polina Osetinksaya. Celebrating his 50th birthday, join Maxim Vengerov for an evening of works by Ravel, Franck and Prokofiev.

7 Jun 2024 Classical Music

The Splendour of the Baroque

Baroque music overflows with its precise, crystalline beauty, and when performed by a chamber ensemble each instrument has space to sing.

Checking availability