Skip to main content

Main navigation

Donald Runnicles Conducts Brahms 2

14 – 16 April 2023

In the Concert Hall

Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Classical Music

Brahms’ Second Symphony is packed with sweeping emotions and lyrical tunes, expertly realised by Sydney Symphony’s Principal Guest Conductor Donald Runnicles.

Lush & Triumphant

Brahms was a perfectionist and it took him almost fifteen years to write his first symphony. After this premiered to critical acclaim, his Second Symphony took less than a year to complete, bursting out in all its colour and glory. From the lush, pastoral landscape of the opening movement to the grand, triumphant finale, every moment is packed with sweeping emotions and lyrical tunes. Glanert’s Idyllium is inspired by Brahms’ music and pays homage to the great Romantic composer.

Schumann’s Piano Concerto is one of the most beautiful of all piano concertos, filled with dreamy melodies and tender music. Noted by The Australian for her “melting lyricism” and “spirited eloquence”, Australian pianist Andrea Lam is the perfect choice to capture the romantic spirit of Schumann’s concerto.

The full expressive power of the Orchestra is drawn out in these works, led by the Sydney Symphony’s Principal Guest Conductor Donald Runnicles.

SCHUMANN Piano Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony No.2

Donald Runnicles conductor
Andrea Lam piano

Presented by Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Other information

You may also like

4 May 2024 Classical Music

Ngaiire and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra

ARIA Award-nominated neo-soul superstar Ngaiire returns to the Sydney Opera House for a genre-defying concert with the Sydney Symphony and GODTET.

18 - 19 May 2024 Classical Music

Joyce Yang performs Grieg’s Piano Concerto

Grieg's Piano Concerto and Dvořák's New World Symphony are both expansive, phenomenal works. And thrilling to hear live.

8 - 11 May 2024 Classical Music

Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony

Indulge in the intoxicating richness of Russian Romanticism with these performances of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.5, with its passionate melodies and beautiful orchestration.

Checking availability