Skip to main content

Main navigation

Elgar’s Cello Concerto

19 – 22 April 2023

In the Concert Hall

Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Classical Music

One of the most famous and beloved works in all classical music, Nicolas Altstaedt brings Elgar’s aching, powerful Cello Concerto to life.

Powerful Inspirations

Composed in the aftermath of the First World War, Elgar’s Cello Concerto speaks to the spirit of his time. Famous for the cello’s powerful opening statement, this is music of aching intensity, from the wistful, searching mood of the iconic first movement to its very final moments. Experience Elgar’s vision as interpreted by sought-after cellist Nicolas Altstaedt, a performer celebrated for his superb control, warmth of tone and huge presence – “One hung on every note as if they were the words of a master storyteller”. (The Australian)

Shostakovich was no stranger to adversity. His Tenth Symphony hints at his struggle against Stalinist oppression. The frenzied force of emotion that ends in such spirited freedom (it premiered after Stalin’s death) has led to many interpretations. Our Principal Guest Conductor Donald Runnicles delivers this highly moving experience with his trademark brilliance.


Alex Turley
50 Fanfares Commission 
Cello Concerto
Symphony No.10


Donald Runnicles

Nicolas Altstaedt

Presented by Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Other information

You may also like

4 May 2024 Classical Music

Ngaiire and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra

ARIA Award-nominated neo-soul superstar Ngaiire returns to the Sydney Opera House for a genre-defying concert with the Sydney Symphony and GODTET.

18 - 19 May 2024 Classical Music

Joyce Yang performs Grieg’s Piano Concerto

Grieg's Piano Concerto and Dvořák's New World Symphony are both expansive, phenomenal works. And thrilling to hear live.

8 - 11 May 2024 Classical Music

Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony

Indulge in the intoxicating richness of Russian Romanticism with these performances of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.5, with its passionate melodies and beautiful orchestration.

Checking availability