Skip to main content

Play With Ray

25 July 2023

In the Concert Hall | Sydney Symphony Orchestra | Classical Music

Three emerging violinists experience a dream come true – performing Bach’s extraordinary Double Concerto at the Sydney Opera House, alongside star violinist Ray Chen.

Ever dreamed of performing on the stage of the Sydney Opera House Concert Hall?

Presented by the Sydney Symphony and Ray Chen, Play with Ray will make that dream a reality for three emerging violinists.

Together, they’ll perform Bach’s extraordinary and dramatic Concerto for Two Violins, with each violinist featuring in one movement alongside Ray Chen. Bach’s beautiful interweaving melodies and cascading passages will allow each violinist their moment to shine.

Ray Chen will also dazzle audiences as soloist in The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, which blends tango-inspired melodies by Piazzolla with influences of Vivaldi’s famous Four Seasons. Alongside arrangements of favourite tunes for violin and orchestra, this concert is sure to be a dazzling experience for anyone who loves the violin.


Adagio for Strings

JS BACH Concerto
in D minor for Two Violins

The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Waltzing Matilda




Tianyi Lu

Ray Chen

Presented by Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Other information

You may also like

12 - 15 Jul 2023 Classical Music

Ray Chen performs Tchaikovsky

Australia’s own star violinist Ray Chen performs Tchaikovsky’s beautiful, poignant Violin Concerto.

30 Jun - 1 Jul 2023 Classical Music

Simone Young & Steven Isserlis

Experience the grand emotions of Schumann and Walton with the Sydney Symphony’s Chief Conductor Simone Young and award-winning cellist Steven Isserlis.

A German violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter in a pose black dress.
9 - 11 Nov 2023 Classical Music

Anne-Sophie Mutter and the Music of John Williams

The Sydney Symphony’s Chief Conductor Simone Young joins forces with starl violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter in this program of music by John Williams and great Hollywood composers.