Skip to main content

Main navigation

Janáček, Ravel & Piazzolla

19 & 20 July 2024

In the Utzon Room

Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Classical Music

Czech composer Leoš Janáček wrote his wind sextet Mládí (Youth) when he was 70, capturing the youthful mood characteristic of his works from this period.

Intimate and intricate

Maurice Ravel wrote his gripping Sonata for Violin and Cello in 1920, and dedicated it to the memory of his friend and colleague, Claude Debussy. There are moments of glowing textures that recall Debussy, and the incredibly detailed and intricate interplay of the two instruments is trademark Ravel. This enchanting duet is a thrilling musical adventure.

Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla brought the sounds and rhythms of Argentinian tango into the concert hall, creating a new blend of tango, jazz and classical music known as nuevo tango (new tango). These pieces are among his finest and showcase the expressive richness and sophisticated harmonies that are so characteristic of his writing.

Presented by Sydney Symphony Orchestra


RAVEL Sonata for Violin and Cello
La Meurte del Angel

Artist information

Musicians of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Other information

You may also like

8 - 11 May 2024 Classical Music

Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony

Indulge in the intoxicating richness of Russian Romanticism with these performances of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.5, with its passionate melodies and beautiful orchestration.

28 Apr 2024 Classical Music

Folk and Fantasy

Take an unexpected journey - contemporary chamber music for woodwinds, strings and pianos, with innovative fusions of well-known favourite composers and novel styles.

7 Jun 2024 Classical Music

The Splendour of the Baroque

Baroque music overflows with its precise, crystalline beauty, and when performed by a chamber ensemble each instrument has space to sing.

Checking availability